Skip to main content

Louisiana Votes, The Gubernatorial General Election

Nov 15, 2019 10:11AM ● By News Desk

Louisiana voters head to the polls once again on Saturday, November 16th  to settle run-off races left unresolved by the October 12th primary election. 

In statewide elections, Gov. John Bel Edwards is fighting for a second term in a run-off against Republican businessman Eddie Rispone. Should Edwards hold on to the seat, he will be the only Democratic Governor in the deep south.  The only other statewide election is for Secretary of State, where Interim Secretary, Kyle Ardoin (R) faces off with “Gwen” Collins-Greenup (D). 

Throughout the state, registered voters will decide on numerous local and regional seats up for grabs in this gubernatorial election.  

   > 27 parishes have statewide & local races, and limited jurisdiction proposition

   > 20 parishes have statewide & local elections only

   > 7 parishes have statewide & local races, and parishwide proposition elections

   > 7 parishes have statewide & local races, parishwide and limited jurisdiction proposition      elections

   > 1 parish (Pointe Coupee) has statewide races and a parishwide proposition

In the Acadiana parishes of Lafayette, Acadia, Iberia, St. Landry, St. Martin, and Vermilion, voter turnout is expected to be heavy, so officials are asking voters to be prepared before arriving at the polls. 

Things To Remember

- Election Day is Saturday November 16, 2019

- Polls open at 7 AM

- Polls close at 8 PM

- Voters must be prepared to show an identification card with your photo and signature prior to voting. If you do not have a photo ID, you may obtain a free Louisiana special identification card by presenting your voter registration information card to the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) or you may vote by affidavit after correctly answering identifying information before voting. 

- Never wear any campaign shirt, hat, and button or pin when voting. All polling places have a 600 foot campaign free zone.

- If you need assistance, ask a commissioner to instruct you on how to operate the voting machine before voting.

Who’s on the ballots?

Statewide Races and Candidates


  John Bel Edwards #4 Democrat

  "Eddie" Rispone #9 Republican

Secretary of State 

  Kyle Ardoin #13 Republican

  Gwen Collins-Greenup #14 Democrat

Acadiana Region – Multi-Parish Races

BESE -- District 6

  "Ronnie" Morris (REP)

  Gregory Spiers (REP)

State Representative 31st District 

  Jonathan Goudeau (REP)

  "Gus" Rantz (REP)

State Representative 46th District

  Keith Baudin (REP)

  Michael "Mike Pete" Huval (REP) 

State Representative 48th District

  "Beau" Beaullieu (REP)

  Ricky Gonsoulin (REP)

State Representative 50th District

  Raymond Harris, Jr. (NOPTY)

  Vincent J. St. Blanc III (REP)

Lafayette Parish

City-Parish Mayor-President

  Carlee Alm-LaBar #90 No Party

  "Josh" Guillory #92 Republican

Parish Council Member District 3

  "Josh" Carlson #99 Republican

  Jeremy Hidalgo #101 Republican

City Council Member – District 1, City of Lafayette

  Patrick "Pat" Lewis #121 Democrat

  Mark Pope #122 Republican

City Council Member – District 5, City of Lafayette

  Janet Jackson #131 Democrat

  Glenn Lazard #132 Democrat

Iberia Parish


  Murphy Meyers (REP)

  "Tommy" Romero (REP)

Councilmen – District 10 

  Roger Duncan (REP)

  Eugene Olivier, Sr. (DEM)

City Marshal – City Court, City of New Iberia

  Brett Lang (REP)

  "Tony" Migues (REP) 

Councilman – District 10 

  Roger Duncan (REP)

  Eugene Olivier, Sr. (DEM) 

St. Landry Parish


  Blair Briggs (DEM)

  Sherri Zeringue McGovern (DEM)

Parish President

  W.K. "Bill" Fontenot (DEM)

  "Ken" Marks (IND)

Council Member – District 6 

  Warren "Biscuit" Basco (NOPTY)

  "Gil" Savoy (DEM)

St. Martin Parish

Council Member – District 2

  Carla Jean Batiste (DEM)

  Thomas Nelson ( DEM) 

Council Member – District 7

  Vincent Alexander (DEM)

  Albert "Da Da" Menard (DEM)

Vermilion Parish

Police Juror District 11

  Scott Broussard (REP)

  Pervis Gaspard (DEM)

Police Juror District 12

  Dexter James Callahan (NOPTY)

  David Trahan (REP)